Skip to main content

GCQ on June 1st

We're not in favor but we need to face the reality.







Because we are in the Philippines.


Our Philippine President had already approved the recommendation of IATF to place NCR on GCQ starting June 1st.

When this news came out (May 28, 2020) , I've already expected statement of disapproval from major number of people through social media. Of course, we can't blame them. They are worried that this time, because of more people would have to be exposed outside, more people could spread the virus. And catching one scares the shit out of us. I am aware of this dangerous fact.

In reality, while we are trying to distance ourselves by staying at home, our frontliners especially the health workers (such as doctors, nurses, hospital workers) are battling face to face with our enemy, the COVID19. There are also many industries that were allowed to resume and continue its operation, which means more workers were able to return to their work. Unfortunately, these workers do not work from home nor have accomodations where they perform their jobs, rather, these jobs require them to travel at any point of Luzon, mostly in Metro Manila; where the highest rate of positive cases lies in. These people have chosen to take the risk in order to earn money or income and feed their families. If you feel what they're going through, you know it's sad, right?

If I am going to picture the ideal event that should be happening right now, for us not to proceed to GCQ (and remain this island into a strict quarantine), I can immediately say that our country won't be able to execute it. First, families should be financially aided. So, let's just stop there already, because the truth is, there's not enough fund or budget (from different Government agencies) to be distributed for all the households on quarantine.
Philippines just can't, that is a hard pill we need to swallow.
Of course, we have to be open-minded, without political ink, the status of our country today isn't only a result of  this present administration.

I've been reading a lot of hateful comments all over  social media. Emotions are enraging because of fear. That's normal. Let's face the reality. COVID19 Capital of the Philippines will be on GCQ by June 1st, some are not in favor but to some, it's an opportunity with risk, a risk they're willing to take, simply because they have their own reason.

We are all facing the same agony, but with the differences on the status of our lives, it separates the people who would risk their health for their needs and some because of the calling of their jobs. Now, I can absolutely say that we are not riding the same boat in this trying times. But let's be hopeful. Better days are coming. Let's claim it.

Pray, pray and pray. Because it certainly works. ♡







Comments